top of page

Art Journaling 101- How do I get started?

Have you wondered how to start creating an Art Journal or even what one is? People always ask me if you have to write in your Art Journal - it's totally up to you. Most of the time on the pages I create, I don't actually write on them. I always have a title or stamps on the pages, but I don't necessarily write down my feelings on the pages. Sometimes I have done that and it is good therapy if you need a place to express your feelings. On the pages that I have written down personal feelings, I have tried to incorporate them into the page so when I show other people it isn't obvious. For me, the process of creating each page is therapy and relaxing in itself.

All of my Art Journaling Kits are easy enough for beginners to create. The PDF instructions that come with each kit are very easy to follow and I am also available to answer any questions that may come up.

Another thing that people ask me is which Art Journal should they use. I love the Ranger Dylusions Art Journal. The pages are really high quality paper that is designed to handle all kinds of mediums. And there are lots of pages so it will last you a long time. I have used different brands, but this one is the one I prefer. All of my Art Journaling Kits are designed to fit the 11.375 x 8.25 Dylusions Art Journal-available at this link!

The next necessity you need for Art Journaling is called Matte Medium. This is basically the medium that you use to attach things to your pages. It also gives you a coating to seal your pages. There are many different brands out there to choose from. I really like the Ranger brand of Matte Medium - the Liquitex brand is good also. This is something you never want to run out of in your Art Journaling supplies!

Another must-have for Art Journaling is White Gesso. Once again - there are many brands out there. I like the Dina Wakely brand. Some brands are more runny than others - you just have to try and see which one you like the best. Gesso is like a base for your pages - it helps paints and other mediums stick to your pages better. Lots of times, on the pages I create, I use gesso through a stencil as one of the last steps just to add dimension and depth to my pages. There are lots of fun things that you can do with gesso!

This is just a start of how to Art Journal. Stay tuned for more blog posts to explain other products and how to use them on your pages!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page